Tag Archives: Social Media

New Profile Background Feature

Great news! More opportunities to customize your profile, stand out from your peers and get people to want to know you.

LinkedIn is rolling out a feature (first to Premium, then to Free members) that will allow you to upload a custom background for your profile. When this becomes available to you, create an image (1400 X 425 pixels) to upload to your profile. The instructions from LinkedIn for adding this image are below (right now, just for Premium members). If you are a Basic (unpaid) member, you can sign up to get early access here:

http://specialedition.linkedin.com/custom-backgrounds/?trk=blog

Creating a custom background: You can work with your designer to create a jpg with the proper dimensions or do-it-yourself. If you go the DIY route, tools like picmonkey.com make it extremely easy. See William Arruda’s background below – he created it in a few minutes with PicMonkey.

http://www.linkedin.com/in/williamarruda

Instructions from LinkedIn: The background photo appears above the top section of your profile. This feature is currently only available to Premium account holders. We’ll gradually roll this out to free members once we’re sure it functions correctly, and can’t take individual requests to release it sooner. Thanks for your patience as we continue to enrich the LinkedIn experience.

You must have the Premium Profile feature turned on before adding a background photo on your profile.

To add or change your background photo:

  1. Move your cursor over Profile at the top of your homepage and select Edit Profile
  2. Click Edit Background, which appears above the top section of your profile.
  3. Select a background image or click Upload to use a photo of your own.
    • File type – JPG, GIF, or PNG
    • File size – 4 MB maximum
    • Ideal pixel size – 1400 x 425
  4. Click Save

LinkedIn Adds ‘Member Blocking’ Feature

LinkedIn will now allow you to block members.

What this means for you: If a connection is becoming a nuisance or a stalker, you need not receive messages from them. LinkedIn will not notify the person that you blocked them and only you will be able to unblock the member.

To block someone, go to their profile and select “Block” from the drop-down menu at the top of the profile summary. After you’ve blocked the person, any previous profile views of yours and of the other person will disappear from each of your “Who’s Viewed My Profile” sections.

MORE: http://community.linkedin.com/questions/156990/linkedin-announces-member-blocking.html

LinkedIn Enhances ‘Who Has Viewed Your Profile’ Feature

LinkedIn has added new visual analytics and insights that give you more ways to understand your target audience and increase your visibility. You can see who has viewed your profile sorted by job title, company and how they found your profile. And you can see the history of views. It also suggests ways you can increase profile views.

What this means for you: It gives you an understanding of what’s working with your profile and lets you track the success of your communications that are directing people to your profile.