Old Dominion Monarchs basketball

The Old Dominion Monarchs basketball team represents Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, United States in NCAA Division I men’s competition.

The college’s team now competes in the Conference USA. They had been also the Division II national champions in 1975, winners of this inaugural CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament in 2009, and champions of the inaugural Vegas 16 at 2016. The group played at 2019 in the Division I NCAA Tournament. The Monarchs are now coached by Jeff Jones.
Old Dominion University has enjoyed an impressive basketball heritage. Since fielding its first team in 1930, Old Dominion has won 1,240 matches in 81 years, a winning percentage of .591. Founded in 1930 as the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, the establishment gained independence in 1962 and became Old Dominion College. In 1969, University status was granted and the title was changed to Old Dominion University. The Monarchs are selected for postseason play with 20 times since moving up to Division I in 1976–77, eight from the NCAA and ten by the NIT. Twenty-two players have been accorded All-American honors since 1958, including first team selections Wilson Washington (1975–76), Joel Copeland (1973–74) and Dave Twardzik (1972–73).
Jeff Jones became the head coach of Old Dominion for the 2013-14 season and has led ODU 1 NIT Final Four appearance. Jones is 89-51 in four years as head coach of the Monarchs. Jeff Jones lead the Monarchs to the 2019 Conference USA Championship and also the 2019 NCAA Tournament in which they’ll play Purdue in the first round.

more information